CDI 4 install pictoral

A pat on the back or just to let us know how we can improve our service.

Moderators: arun, chinoy

roughseas
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 2:28 pm
Location: Pune

Re: CDI 4 install pictoral

Post by roughseas » Thu Feb 28, 2013 8:04 pm

Guess it will look good with a '75 RD fender, but that will have to wait. I'll ask him about the filters next time he calls.

User avatar
Prd
RDD Junkie
Posts: 1405
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 3:14 am

Re: CDI 4 install pictoral

Post by Prd » Mon Mar 04, 2013 9:57 am

Fantastic job on the install and thanks a lot for sharing.
I am sure a lot of newbies will really appreciate the detailed writeup and pics.

Absolutely weet looking bike, BTW!!

amolkakade
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 2:57 pm

Re: CDI 4 install pictoral

Post by amolkakade » Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:41 pm

hi roughseas ...
i want ur hekp abt cdi...for my rd....so can u send me ur mobile no...i m also frm...pune,,,,
plz mail me its urjent for me ....( amol_kakade14@yahoo.com )

Akshay1680
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 2:57 pm

Re: CDI 4 install pictoral

Post by Akshay1680 » Thu Jan 02, 2014 5:17 pm

Hey guys,

I'm a newbie here but have the CDI kit installed 2 years back and haven't had a great experience. I'm hoping that you guys might be able to help.

When i got the kit installed in Koramangala,Bangalore I noticed that the bike wasn't responding as it used to do before. Sometimes on increasing the throttle it would just go louder and not faster but sometimes it would just go faster than I anticipated. Also, starting the bike in the morning was quite a task. When the engine is cold, it would choke as if it is was being suffocated. When i took it back to the mechanic he refused to acknowledge the problem. This made me stop using the bike for a while and did not want to visit the mechanic again.

Then after a year and a half, I wanted to get this sorted and after a bit of searching online I did find a good mechanic. He rebuilt the engine. But again when i was riding the bike I still felt that there was a mistiming and the bike wasn't responding to the throttle in a predictable manner. On speaking to this mechanic he said that it is very hard to get the timing and suggested to set the kit to stock mode instead of advanced mode. He also insisted that setting it to advanced is not a good thing,.

So, I now have it set to stock mode and feel like the bike is missing something.

Any kind of help appreciated!

ajithk
RDD Junkie
Posts: 2552
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 3:00 pm
Location: Bangalore, India
Contact:

Re: CDI 4 install pictoral

Post by ajithk » Thu Jan 02, 2014 7:59 pm

Akshay please start a new thread. The symptoms you talk about are vague and could be anything from clutch slip to an exhaust leak. If you are totally dependent on a mechanic, you will be better off doing what he prefers. That way, he will not have reason to point fingers at you when something isn't going right.

On the other hand, if you want to take matters into your own hand, first get your motorcycle performing as well as a new stock motorcycle with the stock CDI. This implies getting the engine setup properly with good compression and jetted correctly, a well setup clutch, good cycle parts and fool proof electricals. Once you have a good baseline to work from, then you should first measure the stock timing using a timing gun. Then install the Digital CDI and time it again. Ensure you are at about 2 to 4 degrees advanced over the stock timing. That should get you to your happy place.

roughseas
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 2:28 pm
Location: Pune

Re: CDI 4 install pictoral

Post by roughseas » Thu Jul 19, 2018 2:54 pm

Can anyone help me with the rating on the blue capacitor on the backside of the cdi, mine has burst open and markings are not visible.

Post Reply